About Plunket Shield

Plunket Shield is the premier first-class cricket competition in New Zealand, contested by six domestic teams representing different regions of the country. The tournament was first played in the 1906-07 season and has a rich history in New Zealand cricket.

The six teams that currently compete in the Plunket Shield are Auckland, Canterbury, Central Districts, Northern Districts, Otago, and Wellington. Each team plays each other twice in a round-robin format, with the top team at the end of the competition being crowned champions.

The Plunket Shield is known for producing some of the best New Zealand cricketers, including Sir Richard Hadlee, Martin Crowe, Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor, and Kane Williamson, among many others. The competition is also considered an important pathway to international cricket for up-and-coming players in New Zealand.


1Canterbury Kings841304067:3687101
2Central Stags852104066:353599
3Northern Districts Knights834104515:464582
4Auckland Aces823303605:370966
5Wellington Firebirds824203902:427864
6Otago Volts813404134:443553

Social Media
play responsible
gams top